post

DAO以及对中文世界的颠覆

John · Mar 9, 2022

· 1 min read ·

以下是在 BanklessDAO 中混了几个月的心得体会。

一、结论

DAO在未来极大可能性在历史上写下重要的一笔,我对此深信不疑。

中文世界将面临最大颠覆,我对此也深信不疑。

二、什么是DAO?

1)缘起

我在2021年8月份的时候组织了一支创业团队(都是以前一线大厂的同事),一开始的出发点是SaaS方向。关键节点的很多事情却很难达成一致,在经过漫长的3个多月的探讨,却依然还在原地踏步。于是我有了这个动机在市场上寻找一种组织方式,能够自发有效的向着一个目标行进。

你可能已经知道,KPI或者OKRs这些工具,都在国内大厂里玩得飞起,大家都轻车熟路,有一百种避开后划水的方法。

为此,我研究了动态股权分配,参考 《创业公司的动态股权分配机制》–蔡聪,然而,因为税法的原因,却没有办法达到完美,只能依赖一些变通的办法用合伙企业来模拟。

随着深入的研究,发现了DAO这个组织框架,于是在11月底来到了DAOSquare,12月中加入了BanklessDAO。

2)以前以为的DAO

一开始我以为,所谓DAO嘛,大家各持份额,有事没事的链上投票就是了。看起来就很公平。

这期间也去试了DAOHaus,还直挺挺的注册了一个DAO在上面。https://app.daohaus.club/dao/0x64/0xd131bc6306f1a3ed3b255e5ddb608e867374d66d/settings

然而这并没有什么卵用,这就像你找到了做火药的配方,离做成一把枪还离得非常远,更别说开枪打中目标了。

3)现在以为的DAO

DAO是一种非常西式的合作思考框架,它格式化所有可能的争吵点,让事情在合理的机制下运转,不会出现像我们上面提到的几个月一直在空转。

这也是我接下来要讲的,中文世界将要面临的最大颠覆。

三、BanklessDAO的遇到的人(以下记录全部征得对应人员允许)

1)Dev Guild的Steff

BanklessDAO有个机器人项目叫DEGEN,非常有名气,算是Web3世界和discord平台深度合作的产物,可以通过这个机器人来发POAP什么的,非常好用。

Steff是2021年7月加入的bDAO,擅长写作(每个加入的人都会自我介绍),是市场方向的人员,有过客户支持和顾客管理经验。她加入后参加到了DEGEN工作组,对DEGEN的使用进行答疑,很快就到了L1了。然后她开始辅助建立了bDAO产品支持中心,就这样很快就进入了全职DAO的状态了。

截止目前,她正在和另外几外小伙伴策划提案修订,为未来DEGEN的赢利做准备。https://forum.bankless.community/t/bdao-product-support-center-season-3-proposal-revision/3106

2)IMN的GPe

IMN是bDAO的一个子项目,目前是subDAO的状态,GPe是个保加利亚的母亲,刚刚从一个国家搬到另一个国家。她在原来的国家时在可口可乐工作过,还是个认证的瑜珈老师。每周都能在bDAO里见到两次她开的免费瑜珈课程,每个人都可参与。

这个采访的中间段,是GPe本人聊她的经历。 https://banklessdao.podbean.com/e/making-bank-episode-3-featuring-bankless-africa-gpe-and-governator-proposal/

她一边带娃,一边做瑜珈,然后开会,组织活动,大概10月到的bDAO,6个月到了L2。

3)曾经TG的Grendel

TG是翻译家公会的缩写,Grendel是最早的创立人。他是一个在意大利的IT公司的老板,他公司本身也是搞区块链业务的。

我的guest pass是他给通过的,所以要写一写:)

他之前是TG的协调人,上个月因为时间的原因,向社区辞去了这份工作,然后小伙伴们在赛季还有一个月的时候,不再选举协调人了,直接多人去中心化负责了(也把他们剩下的工资挪做他用了)。

他基本上是有求必应,关键的时刻出来写提案,比如说TG的国库里原本用来悬赏的钱,要不要用来做项目等等决定性事项的时候。

他目前的工作重点已经转移到bDAO NFT美术通讯,去中心化艺术,以及他在Polygon的角色。

四、中文世界的颠覆

1)左还是右?

上面提到的这些人,语言文化各异,来自不同的国家与地区。完全的陌生人能够合作在一起,这本身已经是个奇迹了。更何况还要一起开会吵吵闹闹,为工资或者提案细节争执不下。

我自己其实也一直分不清楚政治立场上的左和右,这是因为中华文化博大精深,在思想深处,中庸是我们的本性。世界上大多数人,在一件事情上左,另一件事情上右,这也完全正常。

有人的地方就有政治。DAO就是政治体制的代码化体现,而目前的DAO又以欧美人口为主,这就导致了其组成实际上是 liberalism 的体现。而 liberalism 在许多学者看来,不左不右。

2)颠覆

过去的 100 年,主流中文世界在大力发展社会主义,并把其他大部分地区都认为是资本主义。确切的来讲,欧美地区早就进化到了 自由主义 - liberalism(为什么会有欧盟,意识形态在一起了才有可能)。

DAO中所见,写 proposal,发起 campaign,选出 champion,这一切,都是 DAO 中英语世界的人们从出生就在经历的事情,只不过是如今写成了代码,人人可参加;并且目标并不是政治,而是各种各样的商业。

对主流中文世界的颠覆在于,我们从出生起,没见过议员的提案,几乎不用选。大部分人,在这个过程中都需要学习。

五、自由主义与DAO

理性、个体性是自由主义的基石,宽容和多元是自由义带来的环境。而自由主义的发展又有积极自由与消极自由,目前流行的积极自由主义主要以不影响他人自由为限。

这么听起来,我们社会主义似乎也已经多少受到了自由义的影响了呀。是的,这一百多年的思潮,一点都不影响到东方是不可能的。

回到DAO,目前所有的体会,就是自由主义在区块链代码和discord下的商业目标组织。

Gallery

post

DAO and the disruption of the Chinese world

John · Mar 9, 2022

· 6 min read ·

The following is what I have learned after a few months of participating in BanklessDAO.

I. Conclusion

DAO will be very likely to write an important story in the future. I have no doubt about this.

The Chinese world will face the biggest disruption because of DAO. I also have no doubt about it.

II. What is DAO?

1) Origins

I organized a startup team in August 2021. We are previous colleagues from first-tier large firms in China. The objective at the beginning was SaaS. Many things were difficult to reach a consensus. After more than 3 long months of discussion, we were still in the original place. So I had this motivation to find a way to organize a group of people who will be able to march spontaneously and effectively towards a same goal.

As you may already know, KPIs or OKRs are tools that are played in big IT companies, and everyone is lightly familiar with a hundred ways to mess around.

For this reason, I researched dynamic stake allocation, referencing The Dynamic Equity Allocation Mechanism for Startups - Cai Cong. However, because of tax law, there is no way to reach perfection. I can only rely on some workarounds to simulate with partnerships.

With deeper research, I discovered DAO as an organizational framework. I came to DAOSquare at the end of November and joined BanklessDAO in mid-December.

2) What I thought DAO was before

At first, I thought everyone in a DAO hold a share on blockchain and voted on it. It seems to be very fair.

During this period, I also tried to use DAOHaus and registered a DAO in it. https://app.daohaus.club/dao/0x64/0xd131bc6306f1a3ed3b255e5ddb608e867374d66d/settings

However, this is useless. It is just like you find the recipe for making gunpowder, but it is still very far from making a gun, to say nothing of shooting at the target.

3) What I now think of DAO

DAO is a very western style framework for thinking of collaboration, which formats all the possible points of contention to keep things running in a reasonable mechanism that doesn’t appear to be idling for months like I mentioned above.

This is what I am going to talk about next, i.e. the biggest disruption which the Chinese world is going to face.

III. The people in BanklessDAO I met (all the following records have checked with the permission from the people)

1) Steff from Dev Guild

BanklessDAO has a robot project called DEGEN, which is very famous and is considered a product of the deep cooperation between Web3 World and the discord platform. Usually we send POAP or something through this robot.

Steff joined bDAO in July 2021. She is good at writing (everyone who joins will introduce themselves) and is good at marketing with experience in customer support and client management. She participated in the DEGEN workgroup, and soon reached L1. Then she started to assist in setting up the bDAO product support center, and thus quickly moved into a full-time DAO role.

As of now, she is planning proposal revisions with several other partners to prepare for future DEGEN wins. https://forum.bankless.community/t/bdao-product-support-center-season-3-proposal-revision/3106

2) IMN’s GPe

IMN is a project of bDAO and is currently in subDAO status. GPe is a Bulgarian mother who just moved from one country to another. She worked for Coca-Cola while in her old country and is a certified yoga teacher. Twice a week you can find her in bDAO offering free yoga classes that are open to everyone.

The middle section of this interview is GPe herself talking about her experience. https://banklessdao.podbean.com/e/making-bank-episode-3-featuring-bankless-africa-gpe-and-governator-proposal/

She did yoga while raising a baby, then participated in meetings and organized events. She arrived at bDAO around October and reached L2 in 6 months.

3) Grendel who used to be the lead of TG

TG stands for Translators Guild and Grendel was the first founder. He is the owner of an IT company in Italy, and his company itself is in the blockchain business.

He was previously the coordinator of TG, but resigned from the job to the community last month for time reasons. Then the other guys stopped electing the coordinator with a month to go in the season and took charge of the direct multiplayer decentralization (and also diverted the rest of his salary for other purposes).

He basically responded to requests and came out at key moments to write proposals, such as when the money originally used for bounties in TG’s treasury was to be used for projects and other decisive matters.

His current focus has shifted to the bDAO NFT fine arts newsletter, Decentralized Arts, as well as his role in Polygon.

IV. The Chinese world’s disruption

1) Left or right?

These people mentioned above have different languages and cultures, and come from different countries and regions. It is already a miracle that complete strangers can work together, coordinate together. And besides we have to meet together to bicker and argue over remuneration or proposal details.

I myself have actually never been able to distinguish between the left and the right in terms of political stance. This is because the Chinese culture is more likely in the middle. Most people in the world are left on one thing and right on another, and that is perfectly normal.

DAO is the codified embodiment of the political system. The current DAOs are dominated by the English-speaking world populations, which lead to its composition being the expression of liberalism. That is because liberalism is more popular in these areas.

2) Disruption

For the past 100 years, the mainstream Chinese world has been vigorously developing socialism and considering most of the rest of the world to be capitalist. On the other hand, Europe and the US have long evolved to liberalism.

In DAO, people in the English-speaking world have been writing proposals, launching campaigns, and electing champions, all of which are things that people in the English-speaking world have been experiencing since birth. Only now they are written in code and available to everyone. In addition, the goal is not politics, but business.

The disruption to the mainstream Chinese world is that we haven’t seen a proposal from a council member since we were born, and we almost never have to vote. Most people, for the most part, need to learn in the process.

V. Liberalism and DAO

Rationality and individuality are the cornerstones of liberalism, and tolerance and pluralism are the environment that liberalism brings. The development of liberalism has positive freedom and negative freedom. The current popular positive liberalism is mainly limited to not affecting the freedom of others.

So it sounds like our socialism has been influenced by liberalism to some extent. Yes, it is impossible that the trend of more than 100 years of thinking has not affected the East at all.

Back to DAO, all that is currently experienced is liberalism in blockchain code and discord under the organization of business goals.

Gallery